[SOLVED] Restricting Characters

sh0wtym3

This a snippet from my upload script. At the moment it replaces spaces with "_" and makes the title lowercase.

$file = str_replace(' ', '_', $_POST['title']);
   $file = strtolower($file);

I also have a Javascript code that restricts the user from typing certain characters, such as apostrophes.

Apparently Javascript doesn't work on all browsers as a user just uploaded a file, with a title that has an apostrophe in it, which created all sorts of problems for me.

I added 3 more lines that will hopefully prevent this from happening in the future:

ereg_replace($file,$pattern,$replace);
   $pattern="*^$%&()#@!'";
   $replace="";

But it doesn't seem to work?

If you need to see more of my code just let me know. Thanks in advance.

You have the $pattern and $replace after the rege_replace is done. In php definitions go first.

$pattern="*^$%&()#@!'";
   $replace="";

I am not good with regex, so if the pattern/replace doesnt work I would take this to the regex forum.

As for why it is not working, I just noticed you do not assign what comes out of the regex to a variable IE:

should be

$file = ereg_replace($file,$pattern,$replace);

Hope that works for ya, if not it is the pattern and I am not good with regex =\

You don't need regex for this, just use stripslashes().

I would have to disagree, it seems like he is saving this as a file on the server given that it is an upload script. Files with weird characters in the name tend to get messed up and can cause problems, in fact that is how webservers can be exploited, a user creates a folder on it that has certain characters and bam, they can no longer access that folder or delete it which allows that folder to be accessed by certain programs and a user to do what they want with it such as upload files etc.

The point of this wasnt because of the magic_quotes, he wants all special characters our of it.

At least that is how I took it.