$first_topic = "hello all freaks"; (noob says hi! and asks...)

mikey_b

Hi to everyone at phpfreaks!

My name is Mike and I live in Oxfordshire in the UK, am neare 50 than 40 and love riding my KTM 950 Supermoto!

I'm looking forward to getting involved here and maybe even helping others when and if I can...

Am using Dreamweaver 8 together with some php and now phpmyadmin and MySQL via webfusion ISP

I'm self taught in dw8 and learning php/myadmin and MySQL stuff from scratch..."my mind is going - I can feel it!!!"

I've run a static site for a year and a bit now selling antiques and the like (see www.vintage-home.co.uk).  I like trying to do things myself and not just buying a 'site-in-a-box' kinda thing.

Bear with me - there's not too much more of this...

With around 300 static product pages I think it's now time to introduce my first simple database.  I intend initially to keep the 'framework' of static pages but replace the core 250-300 static product pages with one master php page linked to a database.

I've setup a local test server with the help of 'Easy PHP' and created some sample pages that are linked to the database with recordsets, bindings and the like - my pages are 'working' fine, getting and displaying stuff from the DB, using variables, IF's and the like and with variables passed via URL etc.

Even at this early stage - I'd like to know something about keeping my database secure and hack-free (once I go live with this stuff) and how to enable folks bookmark (add to favourties) my dynamic pages?...

I've tried a search or two here at freaks - but I'm not sure which keywords would best return what I'm looking for at this stage.

Initially, the database will just supply bulk fill to the main display page - a single table with no customer input...I know I could do so much more but I'm doing this one step at a time. :-*

I'm sure that's more than enough for now - and I'm sorry if this is in the wrong part of the forum  ???