Recommend a good php for beginners

mtb211

I got this when I first started and found it clear and concise.

http://www.sitepoint.com/article/php-mysql-tutorial/

You can skip the part about how to install and configure mySQL and PHP, as your host will have done that or if your running it locally then you can use something like Wamp Server to install and configure it all for you.

However that said it would be worth reading them and having a go just to get a better understanding of how it all comes together.

i have some experience in language from classes

Hello,

I'm learning php, I use:

1) Sitepoint Build your own database driven website

2) download and dissect scripts from the web. This part is important, but never use any scripts without modifying them. This helps in two ways

a) Helps understand the script

b) Advances you own php knowledge

DG

i have some experience in language from classes

Hello,

I'm learning php, I use:

1) Sitepoint Build your own database driven website

THats what I said above too :)

Hi,

It's a good book, but I wish they would go a little deeper in to the subject matter. The joke DB is not quite the best choice, it lacks some of the finer points you need in real life.

At present am really struggling with session question, which the book hasn't answered, and the web is not making it very clear either.

I started out by wanting to achieve something and then googling everything I could.  I also downloaded scripts that other people wrote and tried to see how they worked.

However, I did find that "PHP and MYSQL for Dummies" cleared up a lot of things I was confused about.  Nice easy book which can be read from the beginning or you can easily skip to the page with the info you need to know more about.