Mail Function

jr.

Alright, I have been working on making a forum for my website. I have a lot of it made so far but I am stuck on this mail function. I have never used a mail function before. I am using gofreeserve.com free hosting until I get my site fully coded. Anyways, my website doesn't have any errors when I run this code. I just don't get an email. I was wondering if anyone could help me out? BTW this code is for my password recovery section.

getpass.php Code:

<?php

function getpass($email){

$sql = "SELECT * FROM `users` WHERE `email`='".$email."'";

$res = mysql_query($sql) or die(mysql_error());

if(mysql_num_rows($res) == 0){

return "Unknown email address!";

}else {

$row = mysql_fetch_assoc($res);

if($email == $row['email']){

$rand = rand(100000, 999999);

$row['password'] = $rand;

$to = $email;

$subject = "Password Recovery";

$message = "Testing";

$headers = "From: email@gmail.com";

mail($to,$subject,$message,$headers);

$sql2 = "UPDATE `users` SET `password`='".md5($row['password'])."' WHERE `email`='".$email."'";

$res2 = mysql_query($sql2) or die(mysql_error());

if(mail){

echo "Sent!";

}else {

echo "Not sent!";

}

}else {

echo "Unknown email address!";

}

}

}

if(!$_POST['submit']){

echo "<table border=\"0\" cellspacing=\"3\" cellpadding=\"3\" width=\"30%\">\n";

echo "<form method=\"post\" action=\"getpass.php\">\n";

echo "<tr><td width=\"50%\">Registered e-mail </td><td><input type=\"text\" name=\"email\"></td></tr>\n";

echo "<tr><td colspan=\"2\" align=\"center\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Get Password\"></td></td></tr>\n";

echo "</form></table>";

}else {

echo getpass($_POST['email']);

}

?>

Hmm... instead of:

mail($to,$subject,$message,$headers);

if(mail){
    echo "Sent!";
}else {
    echo "Not sent!";
}

try putting the mail() function in the if() condition, like this:

if(mail($to,$subject,$message,$headers)){ echo "Sent!"; } else { echo "Not sent!"; }