[SOLVED] C++ Conversion Errors

Hi all,

I'm trying to make a ping program in C++ using system(), pretty simple, but I can't seem to get the syntax right (I'm pretty new to C++). Here's what I've got.

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main()
{
    printf("Hello world...welcome to jackpf's internet connection checker.");
    cout << endl << "Ping : ";
    string ping;
    cin >> ping;
    //const char * cmd = "ping "+ping;
    for(int i = 0; i == i; i++)
    {
        system("ping "+ping);
    }
}

I get the error error: cannot convert `std::basic_string<char, std::char_traits<char>, std::allocator<char> >' to `const char*' for argument `1' to `int system(const char*)' for the line that executes the system() command.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Jack.

In C++, a string (as in the class std::string) is not simply an array of characters.  When it comes down to it, it is, but it has a wrapper, dynamic allocation and so on.

That said, you cannot concatenate an std::string to a const char* (which is what "ping " would be).

The solutions:

The easy way:

Instead of a string, have ping be a char array.  The problem?  If the cin buffer size is > the size of the ping variable there will be a memory overflow.  You could use a stream reading function to read a max byte size from cin like a stream.

Or:

You could use a different way to concatenate the two variables a different way.  You could convert ping to a char array and then merge the two arrays, but I don't feel like explaining that, so you could do the easy way:

string tmp = string("ping ").append(ping);

system(tmp.c_str());

You have my gratitude kind sir.

Finished product :)

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main()
{
    system("title Jackpf - Check Connection");
    printf("Hello world...welcome to jackpf's internet connection checker.");
    cout << endl << "Ping : ";
    string ping;
    cin >> ping;
    ping = (strlen(ping.c_str()) >= 11) ? ping : "127.0.0.1";