regex username

9three

Hey,

I'm trying to create a pattern, but I'm very new to regular expressions.

I'm checking for a username input. It needs to match the following:

1. Must start with either a number or letter

2. May contain one underscore or one hyphen (I don't know if this is possible, unless I create two patterns, one matching underscore and another matching a hyphen)

3. Must end with a letter

This is what I got:

preg_match('#^[a-z0-9]([_-a-z])$#i', $username)

I've seen people using # and / to start a pattern. I don't know which one is correct or a matter of preference? Dollar sign?! I understand the i is to allow upper and lowercase?

thanks for any help

I do not think you can accomplish all that you want with 1 regex, and not that you would want to. Doing multiple would give you input to tell the user what was wrong.

<?php
function checkUsername($username) {
// first character check
$first = substr($username, 0, 1);
if (preg_match('~[a-z]~i', $first) < 1)
	return "{$username} must contain a letter for the first character.";

// last character check
$last = substr($username, -1, 1);
if (preg_match('~[a-z]~i', $last) < 1)
	return "{$username} must contain a letter for the last character.";

// underscore check (test for 1 as you only want 1 occurance)
$underscore = false;
$numUnderscore = count(explode("_", $username));
if ($numUnderscore > 2)
	return "{$username} cannot contain more than 1 underscore.";
elseif ($numUnderscore == 2)	
	$underscore = true;

$hyphen = false;
$numHyphens = count(explode("-", $username));

if ($numHyphens > 2)
	return "{$username} cannot contain more than 1 hyphen.";

if ($numHyphens == 2 && $underscore)
	return "{$username} can only contain a hyphen (-) or an underscore (_) not both.";
elseif ($numHyphens == 2)
	$hyphen = true;

if (!$hyphen && !$underscore)
	return "{$username} must contain a hyphen (-) or an underscore (_).";

return true;	
}