Some serious advice needed

ramee001

Hi and thanks to anyone that replies to this thread.

I`m just starting out learning about web designing and development, I am really serious about becoming a designer, at the moment I work full time in the Lan Industry, I`m 33 years old and I`m looking for some advice from people that know about were I start developing my knowledge and what would be a really solid base. From what I can gather it is better to learn the coding raw than use something like dreamweaver as dreamweaver is only a tool to aid the designer ? (Is this correct ?)

I have simple HTML experience from 7 years ago which won`t be applicable now but it gives me an idea about what I`m up against.

I have started learning HTML 4 I think it is, and am able to grasp the basics so far my question is this, is the best route for my learning as follows ? >

HTML

XHTML

CSS

Java Script

Thats the coding side. From a design aspect and software I am looking at

Dreamweaver

Word Press (For Blogs?)

Photoshop

Fireworks

Flash

I really would appreciate someone taking the time and effort to help me and give me a really good idea whether the above is a good proposal for learning

With the programming I would work through HTML down ending up with java script

If you are a designer then why learn javascript? Developer yes.

You must learn XHTML and CSS (XHTML is just extended HTML so don't bother with the previous as a lot of tags have been depreciated).

Raw coding HTML documents. If anyone does this they are liars, especially if they say, 'I use notepad'. You are better with an IDE like Dreamweaver or any of the free editors to make life easier. CSS editors like Topstyle can be useful also however most of the time I will hand crank CSS or use from existing projects. As long as you understand XHML, CSS etc then you can modify anything that an editor may insert itself.

As a designer you should have a strong knowledge of at least one image editor (Photoshop / Fireworks).