New member/new linux user, general damsel in distress

REFUSEbecky

Hey all...was looking for some help with Linux so I thought I'd join. Now, not one to beat around the bush, I'll go straight to seeking help!

Now, I'll use all the old excuses to substitute for being quite computer illeterate; young, female, raised using Windows, yadda yadda yadda, you get the idea ;]

Basically, I'm a student with the Open University, and due to health problems, was given funding for a laptop I could use to work in bed (due to chronic illness) and settled on an Acer Aspire One netbook that seem to be so popular at the moment. Anywas, a friend of mine assured me I'd be fine with Linux, and I have been (given that I'm using the already-installed Linpus Linux Lite) however, after a bit of googling, would like to change to Ubuntu. Here's the problem - I have no idea what I'm doing :( I have tried but just end up confusing myself. So if anyone would like to give me a severely watered down, easy step by step help guide or just some advice/tips, I would be hugely grateful :]

I'm so sorry to hear about your condition. :( :'( Can you get out of bed or do you have to stay in bed all day?

Ubuntu installations are really, really easy. One of the easiest really. It's arguably the most supported distro. You can order the CD or download the file. You can find it in www.distrowatch.com. Download the Ubuntu file and burn it into a CD. You can Google if you have trouble burning. Once you have that, pop in the CD and restart your computer on it. The installation would pretty much walk you through all aspects of it. Pretty simple. I'm sure you can find a guide on it if you Google "Ubuntu Installation".

Best of luck!

• 4 weeks later...

I'm actually quite embarrassed as to how long it took for me to reply. Have been hugely busy recently, which I am not used to, and thus internet usage goes out the window.