[SOLVED] combining two queries.

stelthius

Hello guys after several hours of trying to combine two queries ive had to admit defeat, does anyone know of a way to combine these two queries so i can lessen the load on the pagea and server its self, iany help is greatly appretiated.

$result = mysql_query("SELECT unread FROM messages WHERE unread = 'unread' and receiver = '$session->username'");
$num_rows = mysql_num_rows($result);

$view_msg = mysql_query("SELECT received FROM messages WHERE received = '0' and receiver = '$session->username'");
$msg = mysql_num_rows($view_msg);

Thanks rick

Sorry if its messy im still learning :)

Field  	Type  	        Attributes  	                       Null  	Default
received  	enum('1', '0')  	latin1_swedish_ci  	       Yes  	0  	 	 
unread 	varchar(255) 	latin1_swedish_ci 	       No 	unread 	

I don't think you can interpolate complex PHP statements like that.

<?php
$result = mysql_query("SELECT unread FROM messages WHERE unread = 'unread' and receiver = '".$session->username."'");

$view_msg = mysql_query("SELECT received FROM messages WHERE received = '0' and receiver = '".$session->username."'");

But combining them -

<?php
$sql = 'SELECT received, unread FROM messages WHERE received = "0" AND unread = "unread" AND receiver = "'.$session->username.'";';

so if i use

$sql = 'SELECT received, unread FROM messages WHERE received = "0" AND unread = "unread" AND receiver = "'.$session->username.'";';

how would i get the info i require from that as currently im using

$result = mysql_query("SELECT unread FROM messages WHERE unread = 'unread' and receiver = '$session->username'");

$view_msg = mysql_query("SELECT received FROM messages WHERE received = '0' and receiver = '$session->username'");

$consoleOutput = "<font face='Verdana' color='#FFFFFF' size='2'>Welcome back <b>$session->username</b>,</font>
<a href='index.php?page=messages&option=inbox'>Private Messages</a> (Unread " .$msg. ", Total " .$num_rows. ")";