Date Format

jeeves245

Hi guys,

i'm currently building a website for a friend. It's 90% finished, but i'm having a few issues which I can't figure out.

Firstly, formatting a date in MySQL.. I've tried several different uses of DATE_FORMAT but I can't get it right. Could anyone give me any pointers? The date needs to be inserted as DD-MM-YYYY AND outputted as DD-MM-YYYY.

The insert code:

$sql="INSERT INTO TABLE_DELIVERIES (PSNUMBER, DELIVERYDATE)
VALUES
('$_POST[psnumber]','$_POST[deliverydate]')";

The output code:

("SELECT PSNUMBER,DELIVERYDATE FROM TABLE_DELIVERIES");

I have tried

date_format(DELIVERYDATE,'%d/%m/%Y')

(found somewhere on Google) but it didn't work (date doesn't output at all).

Any info/tips would be greatly appreciated :)

Cheers

DATE()

DATE_FORMAT()

THEDATE()

Thanks for your reply, but that doesn't mean much to me. I know a decent amount about PHP but i'm still a bit of a beginner...

I was hoping someone would be able to tell me how to write the line of code :) (or at least point me in the right direction)

To format your incoming DD-MM-YYYY as a DATE data type (YYYY-MM-DD), you can explode it on the '-' character, which will also allow you to validate it (all external data cannot be trusted and must be validated before you attempt to use it and in this case you must also use mysql_real_escape_string on the resulting value put into the query to prevent sql injection) using checkdate. You can then produce the YYYY-MM-DD format from the exploded parts.

To select a DATE value (YYYY-MM-DD) and format it the way you want, use the mysql DATE_FORMAT() function in your select query. I would recommend also using an alias name for the value to make referencing it in the php code easier. The '%d/%m/%Y' format string you came up with does not match the stated format of DD-MM-YYYY. It would need to be '%d-%m-%Y'