Restricting the number of programs

pjoshi

Hi,

We have a server and several thin clients attached to this in our Office. The OS is RedHat Linux. Whenever n number of applications/programs are opened on each thin client the performance of the server degrades.

Is there any way to restrict the number of programs that can be opened by each client or any other way that I can increase the performance of the server. Pls help :(

Plenty of ways to do it but it would entirely depend on your setup. One simple method would simply be to create a lockfile when an application starts and not to let another copy of said application start while the lockfile exists.

Thanks thorpe for the suggestion. But it would be great if you could tell me how to create a lockfile as I'm very new to such concepts.

Lets take an example of creating a lockfile for restricting one instance of the following applications.

1) Open Office 3.0

2) Acrobat Reader 5.0

3) Mozilla Firefox

Please help  :(

• 2 weeks later...

Hi Steve,

I went through the How To posted on http://www.cyberciti.biz/tips/linux-limiting-user-process.html as suggested by you. As mentioned in the post I configured my /etc/security/limits.conf file.

There are around 70+ users connected on the server and there were around 2700+ processes opened. I added the line pjoshi hard nproc 5 to the limits.conf file (pjoshi is one of the username connected to the server). Thinking that it would allow pjoshi to open maximum 5 processes.

I saved and closed the file and then executed the command : (){ :|:& };: on the prompt. But, to my surprise this resulted in big havoc. All the users were processes were stopped and were disconnected from the server. And even as a administrator I was unable to connect to the server until I restarted it.

I want to know what went wrong? Why other users processes got affected when I had added the line to restrict only the processes of the user – pjoshi.