Best Place to get help for a PHP MYSQL Beginner? Desperation.

jimmyoneshot

I'm really desperate for help in a couple of php/mysql queries and code that I need to implement and I was wondering where it would be best to get it, basic stuff? I am a flex student but need to populate my applications via php/mysql but my knowledge of these languages is very limted. I'm so desperate that I'm thinking of taking drastic measures. Can anybody please help me out? This is a serious cry for help here.

Is the problem getting started with the languages (PHP & MySQL) or the integration with Flash/Flex?

Are you able to do something like this:

http://cookbooks.adobe.com/index.cfm?event=showdetails&postId=11146

Is the problem "How to create a database and dynamically pull data from it to populate a Flash application?" or is it "How to make a PHP/MySQL project?" 

Would you also provide a few details of what type of data you want to store and what type of queries you are trying to pull?  Generally for a novice I recommend reading a book, especially if you have a good public library where you don't need to invest money to get started.

Thanks for the replies the main code I'm trying to manage is the following.

I'm trying to select all of the values in the linkid column of my userlinks table for a specfic userid that gets submitted to the php file where the value of the favourited column is 'N'. Here's a screenshot of my userlinks table:-

http://i223.photobucket.com/albums/dd147/jimmyoneshot/userlinkstable.jpg

Then I'm trying to get all the records from all the columns in the links table in which the value linkid match these linkids. Here's my links table:-

http://i223.photobucket.com/albums/dd147/jimmyoneshot/linkstable.jpg

I'm pretty useless at php but I've been tweaking my code non stop and can't get it to output anything. Here's the code I've got so far. Can anyone please tell me where I'm going wrong:-

<?php 

header("Content-type: text/xml"); 

$host = ""; 
$user = "";