Work website

Andy-H

My boss is off on paternity leave at the moment and is the only person with access to our works website host, amongst many other things.

My job title is "Junior web developer" but because I am a programmer I am expected to know "everything" about computers and the people I work with are turning to me to fix the problem; which my boss has known of for a long time, and hasn't found a solution.

Basically, were on our internal network and all requests are filtered through a single switch (I assume, as we all have the same IP address to "the outside world"), now, sometimes one person will complain that the website will not load, while others load it perfectly, other times, everyone complains that the website won't load or is running "like shit". I don't have access to the code but have access to the router, I have assumed for a long time that the lag is caused by poorly written code, but the symptoms suggest otherwise (unless there is a session-dependant bottleneck???). Is there anything I can do to diagnose this problem and get it sorted once and for all.

Any help greatly appreciated.

Just realised that I do have access to the scripts, it's awful, SELECT *'s all over on tables with around 40 columns when only 2-6 columns are used, then mysql_fetch_array used in conjunction with this, database is about as far from normalised as I've ever seen.

I have written a CRM when I first started here, normalised database, clean code, slick AJAX UI but my boss doesn't want to launch it until he has finished the tracking side of the system.

I still don't get why it's only affecting some users though? Surely it would affect everyone? Can previous script calls affect the current call (in relation to speed, bottlenecks)? Are there any legacy known memory leaks in PHP I could check for?

Surely if it was down to the bad programming, everyone would be complaining?