Total newbie!!!

scarr

Hi all,

Here is what I have

1) Webpage designed in "Xara web designer" with graphics etc and a lot of code in (produced by Xara)

2) A VB app listening to port 3456 when something arrives I can then do something like create a file or whatever.

When for instance the Text "ON" arrives at the VB app, I want to update the webpage to have the word "ON" embedded in it.

Now I am happy to dump the VB app if there is a better way of doing this so please please please help me as I have tried and not got anywhere

Thanks

Steve

P.S. Cannot really get the VB to re-write the entire web page as there is loads in it and its all produced by Xara normally.

Thanks for your replies and sorry for not explaining well,

All I want to do is change text in a webpage based on text arriving on a TCP/IP port. When I started this the way I knew how to get data from client to my webserver was via TCP/IP port so I wrote a winsock VB, now I need to get this text into my webpage.

I am more than happy to change how this data gets to the webpage (in other words do not use VB app) but if I do I will be totally out of my depth as I no very little about web programming. Having said that PHPH does look readable to me.

Steve

More information on what is being sent to the VB application would be helpful.  Also, what is the Xara authored page?  Is it static html?

PHP is very well suited to a task like this because you can freely intermix HTML and php in a php script.  So I would suggest you assume you'll use PHP, and start by moving your entire .html page into a PHP script exactly as is.  You can then have something like this:

The status of the System is:  

You can easily drop in and out of php blocks in this manner.  PHP will start with the assumption it is parsing HTML until it sees a php start tag.