Passing Login Info To 2Nd Page, And Echoing Statement Accordingly

davidcriniti

Hi,

I've been working on a website for both students and teachers at my school, and I would like to preface this post by saying that I'm a teacher who is just trying to teach himself a bit of php / mysql, so please bear that in mind if I ask questions you may regard as basic.

I've got:

- some pages which are open to the public,

- some which are available to anyone logged in (be they students or teachers), and

- some which are available to teachers only.

Teachers and students all log in on the same page. If someone goes to a page which requires a log in, I redirect them to the login page (login_required.php) with code like this:

<?php
session_start();
if (empty($_SESSION['userName'])  || $_SESSION['member_type'] == 'Student' )  {
header("Location: login_required.php");
die();
} ?>

The above code is for a page that requires users to be logged in as a teacher to access.

Once this re-direct to login_required.php has occured, is there any way for the information to be passed to the login_required.php page that this person has come from a page which requires a teacher log in, and echo the message "The page you tried to access requires you to log in as a teacher. Please do so now."

...and similarly, if a person comes from another page which simply requires them to be logged in (as either student or teacher), such as the following:

<?php
session_start();
if (empty($_SESSION['userName']) )  {
die();
} ?>

...the message would say "The page you tried to access requires you to be logged in. Please do so now".

Any advice on how to achieve the above would be very gratefully appreciated.

Thanks for your time,

Dave

Thanks for your quick response Jessica. I did it (following your advice) and it seems to have worked from the tests I've done so far.