Form submission dependant on option selected

massimassi

Hello,
I need to change the "name" part of the <input> of a form accordingly to an option selected from a dropdown.
Please refer to the code to understand what I mean.
The form is something like this, with a submit onchange

Code:
<form id="myform" method="a_method" action="an_action">
    <select class="field" name="name_of_select" onchange="$('myform').submit();"
    <option value="1">choise1</option>
    <option value="2">choise2</option>
    </select>

<input type="hidden" name="this_name_changes_when_option_selected_changes">
</form>

I'm not a programmer but I'm willing to learn as I need to make it work, but please explain things to me in a human understandable waysmile.gif
Thanks a lot.
mass

I think you need to explain what your overall goal is, because that sounds like a really weird thing to do.

Hello.

I have a CMS that can be customized throught template changes, the form I want to modify in fact is part of a template (smarty).

The "Original" code is something like this:

Code:
<form action="" id="zip" method="post">

<select class="field" name="set_zip_filter_distance" onchange="$('zip').submit()">

<option value="">Distance</option>

<option value="1">1km</option>

<option value="5">5km</option>

<option value="10">10km</option>

<option value="15">15km</option>

.....and so on.....

</select>

<input type="hidden" name="submit_zip_filter"/>

<!-- BUTTON1---<input type="submit" name="submit_zip_filter" value="submit" class="button" />

BUTTON2---<input type="submit" name="clear_zip_filter" value="reset" class="button" />-->

</form>

The parts in bold are the ones I added.

At the bottom of it you will noticed 2 lines of code I commented out. They were 2 submit button I'm trying to get rid of, and that's the reason why I want to change the "name part" of the <input> line to change in accordance to the option selected.