Myqli doesn't return anything?

crf1121359

Hi,

I have been trying to SELECT from mysql databse using mysqli query with no success!

I am quite new to mysqli so bear with me.

I have looked on the PHP site as well but they don't realy make sense if i'm honest!

This is what I have done so far:

<?php
error_reporting(E_ALL);
ini_set('display_errors', '1');
?>
<?php
// Run a select query to get my letest 6 items
// Connect to the MySQL database
include "config/connect.php";
$dynamicList = "";
$sql = "SELECT * FROM users order by id";
$query = mysqli_query($db_conx, $sql);
$productCount = @mysqli_num_rows($sql); // count the output amount
if ($productCount > 0) {
while($row = @mysqli_fetch_array($sql)){
$id = $row["id"];
$username = $row["username"];
$date_added = strftime("%b %d, %Y", strtotime($row["date_added"]));
$question = $row["question"];
$dynamicList .= '<div style="width:550px;"> <hr style="color:#E9E9E9; border:dashed thin;"/>
<a href="questions.php?">' . $question . '
</a><hr style="color:#E9E9E9; border:dashed thin;" /><br >

</div>';
}
} else {
$dynamicList = "NOTHING TO SHOW";
}
?>

i'm not getting any erros in my php page but it doesn't show the mysql database details either!!

i also have <?php echo $dynamicList; ?> where i want the data to be shown on my page!

where i have placed the <?php echo $dynamicList; ?> will show the NOTHING TO SHOW message!

any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Edited by crf1121359

Thanks Jessica, I did place the "or trigger_error("Query Failed! SQL: $sql - Error: ".mysqli_error(), E_USER_ERROR);" after my mysqli query and still didn't come back with any errors. also, at the top of my php code I already had <?php
error_reporting(E_ALL);
ini_set('display_errors', '1');
?> anyway..

cheers anyway.

I have started with a code without them @'s but i was keep getting Warning: mysqli_num_rows() expects parameter 1 to be mysqli_result, string given in line 12 which is $productCount = mysqli_num_rows($sql);