Possible variable issue...

Cygna
Go to solution Solved by Christian F.,

Hey all! I'm new to php and just ran into an issue.
Anyone know what could be going on here?
I've made a dialogue system, but the text I've echoed first never leaves the screen. The response text seems to update appropriately. I wrote a bit of code earlier and tested, the dialogue and branch variables seem to be updating appropriately. Just to make it clear, I only want the intro text to appear until a button is pressed, then display the response text instead. Thanks for any help you might be able to give me! smiley.gif

<?php
// set variables
$strength=25;
$constitution=25;
$dexterity=25;
$intelligence=25;
$willpower=25;
$charisma=25;
$speed=25;
//action info: 0 showstats 1 story
$action=1; 
$dialogue=1;
$branch=0;

if ($action =0)
    {
    //show stats
    print "<p><br><font color=\"red\">Your <big>stats</big> are as follows:</font></p>
    <br>
    <p>Strength: $strength <br>
    Constitution: $constitution <br>
    Dexterity: $dexterity <br>
    Intelligence: $intelligence <br>
    Willpower: $willpower <br>
    Charisma: $charisma <br>
    Speed: $speed <br>
    </p>\n";    
    }

if ($action=1)
    {
    if ($dialogue=1)
        {
print "We begin your story here, in the snowy hills of Alteberron, in the city of     

Winter's Hold. While on your way from the desert city of Shahazad, your caravan was     

attacked by marauders, the caravan guard slaughtered before your eyes. You were forced to 

watch as all of your goods you had worked so hard to acquire were ripped from you and taken 

to god knows where. Beaten and malnourished, you were taken as a     slave to be 

ransomed to your family for a high price. One morning you awaken to hear fighting, the 

clash of steel on steel. Jumping to your feet, you run to your cage door, screams and the 

smell of smoke taking hold of your senses. A moment later, a man stands at your cell, his 

armor glinting in the campfire light. <br><br>