[Resolved] Session Variables Help

skrap1r0n

I am an ASP developer, recently switched over to a LAMP environment. For the most part, switching from ASP to PHP has been fairly simple.

One thing I am curious about is how session variables are handled. In ASP, if I wanted to set a session state, say an administrator priviledge, I could do it as a session variable. Then at the top of each page that needed to be secure, I could check for that session variable and if it didn't exist, I could redirect them to a login page.

Now I am trying to do this in php and I seem to be running into some issues. First, here is the code that I am calling on a secure page to test if the session variable exists:
[quote]if ($_SESSION['user'] !== 'admin')
{
header('Location:./utils/admin_login.php?pg='.$_SERVER['PHP_SELF']);
}[/quote]

This will direct the visitor to a login page, that requires them to log in, validates it against values returned from a database then kick them back to the originating page (hence passing the originating page in the redirect). Next it the code that sets the session variable:
[quote]if ($bitUnErrFlag + $bitPwErrFlag == 0)
    {
          session_start();
          $_SESSION['user']='admin';
          header('Location:..'.$pg);
    }[/quote]

Now, I am not clear if the [b]header('Location:..'.$pg);[/b] is the right way to do it, or whether it is properly concactnated, however when I echo that string, I get [b]Location:../test.php[/b], which is where I want to go.

Now here is the rub... When it redirects me back to test.php. it encountered the initial check:
[quote]if ($_SESSION['user'] !== 'admin')
{
header('Location:./utils/admin_login.php?pg='.$_SERVER['PHP_SELF']);
}[/quote]