Fopen + css

sevin

Greetings, I am a decent PHP coder and I am experementing with a method of having alternating stylesheets via links that use fopen.  Each link would change the color, ie red, blue, and default - green.  the link would use fopen their coresponding css file and apply it in the document body.  I have a sinking feeling it will involve preg_match_all

http://hacktheroot.com is where it will be

Never rely on js!!!!!!!!!!

There is no big deal switching between style sheets via server side scripting.  So many ways to do it just take your pick and have a play.  Although I would opt for something nice and simple like a session var and use that to pick which style sheet to use. Why would preg_match come into it? Just keep it nice and simple...

I agree. A mixture of Javascript and [i]possibly[/i] PHP (depending on where you choose to store your user's settings) is the way to go on that. Typically, a cookie that simply holds the user's preferred style is all that's needed. You can do the same thing with things like font size selectors, too.

Obviously, you never want to rely on this entirely. And, by that, I simply mean that you don't want to have anything on your site dependent on this. If it is something that will actually make a difference in their browsing experience (as far as what they can do), you may want to store their selection somewhere on the server.

[quote author=ToonMariner link=topic=116994.msg477032#msg477032 date=1164988637]
Never rely on js!!!!!!!!!!
[/quote]

Why? For a style switcher, there is absolutely nothing wrong with using JS. In fact, that's typically the way it's handled when the selection doesn't do any more than change the layout look (not to mention being extremely easy to handle). IMHO, that's the preferred way to handle style switchers... in addition, what percentage of your users typically have JS disabled? Last check I ran, it's somewhere around 2%... hardly enough to worry about in most cases.