PHP & MySQL - Calculation before inserting data into table

rvdveen27

Hello all,

First of all, I'm fairly new to this. I had some (very) basic experiences with HTML/CSS/PHP/MySQL. I've recently bought a CMS package called TruckNet which was created for Euro Truck Simulator 2 Multiplayer, to simulate VTC's (Virtual Trucking Companies). The CMS package was created by StuartD and after buying it I'm free to change it to my own wishes. I saw this a nice to chance to create something for what I like to do and as well learning some new things.

Secondly, I'm not sure if this is posted in the right section, if not, my apologies, I was unsure where exactly to post it.

I want to insert a calculation into my code. The calculation should go as follow: price before pickup - damages - costs = profit. I assumed that the calculation should happen when the forum is being submitted but before the data is put into the table, so I assumed that it would be somewhere in between that, which would be on the submitjobs page. The thing is, I have no idea where exactly to put that in between the existing code and what exactly to put there. I did google on how to calculate things in PHP & MySQL but there seem to be quite a lot of different options to do so and I'm confused as what to use.

I'm hoping someone could explain me where the best location for the calculation would be and how I could create that calculation.

Below is the code where I believe the calculation should be made in between.

$query = " 
				INSERT INTO drive_routes ( 
					driver, 
					start, 
					startcompany, 
					end, 
					endcompany, 
					cargoweight,
					cargo,
					cargotype,
					cargodamage,
					distance, 
					price, 
					costs
				) VALUES ( 
					:driver, 
					:start, 
					:startcompany,
					:end, 
					:endcompany,
					:cargoweight,
					:cargo,
					:cargotype,
					:cargodamage,
					:distance, 
					:price, 
					:costs
				) 
			"; 

$query_params = array(