foreach or while - table columns and rows

sigmahokies

Hi everyone,

I am still learning to write the code in PHP, it is not easy. I am learning how to use foreach and while array, but I haven't figured how to create the two or more columns, only I can do one column. Soon, I will have larger database coming in, I need to learn how to create few columns, instead of one column. Can anyone help me? not following in row, I rather to follow by columns. 

Thanks,

Gary

You talk about 'using' the foreach and while operators but then you talk about columns. Don't understand.

Those two operators allow you to easily iterate through a collection of "data" easily. Each time thru you can process one piece of that data. To show you:

If you have an array of the following: $ar = array('apple', 'pear', 'peach', 'cherry')

and you use a foreach on it like this: foreach ($ar as $a)

then the code you follow that statement with would operate on $a and you could do something like:

foreach ($ar as $a)

echo $a."<br>";

Or if you had an array like $ar = array('val1'=>12, 'val2'=>15,'val22'=>22, 'val33'=>29)

you could do this:

foreach ($ar as $k=>$v)

echo "Item $k contains $v<br>";

and the output would look like:

Item val1 contains 12

Item val2 contains 15

Item val22 contains 22

Item val33 contains 29

The while loop is a bit different in that it works well on arrays of arrays (imho). Usually when retrieving a set of query results as an associative array (or numeric too) you would do this:

$q = 'select firstname, lastname, street1, city, state,zip from address_table where city='Albany'";

$qresults = $pdo->query($q);

while ($row = $qresults->fetch(PDO::FETCH_ASSOC)

{

echo "{$row['firstname']" {$row['lastname']} lives at {$row['street1'} {$row['city']} {$row['state']} {$row['zip']}<br>";

which would echo each row of the query results on a single line of your screen.