Update node when data is changed

Raxter

I have a custom module that is displaying events fed by a JSON feed. The problem I am having is when the JSON feed is updated (for example a title name is updated) it creates a new event instead of updating the original event. 

I am new to php and what I have tried is not working. Any help would be appreciated.

$category_matches = taxonomy_get_term_by_name('Dicate', 'events');
    $category = array_pop($category_matches);
    if (!$category) {
      watchdog('rad', 'no dicate  found', 'error');
      return;
    }
    $feed_url = 'https://las/rad-forms/api/v1/getfeed';
    $options = array('headers' => array());
    $options['headers']['Authorization'] = 'Basic ' . base64_encode('rad:6WLUMwFgAjdOQPazZ7K0yxBRxklVAEWZaaaAcQuzQh4V7v7ZWP2cHl/BtCdhlj1ngacrhA==');
    $response = drupal_http_request($feed_url, $options);
    $response_data = $response->data;
    $json_data = json_decode($response_data);

$feed_data = $json_data->dicate;
    if (!count($feed_data)) {
      watchdog('rad_feed', 'bad feed request - ' . print_r($response, TRUE));
    }
    foreach ($feed_data as $event) {
      // make sure it doesn't already exist
      $event_nids = FALSE;
      $query = new EntityFieldQuery(); 
      $query->entityCondition('entity_type', 'node') 
        ->entityCondition('bundle', 'event')
        ->propertyCondition('title', $event->{'draftTitle'}, '=')
        ->fieldCondition('field_event_dates', 'value', strtotime($event->startTime) , '=')
        ->range(0, 1) //($start, $length)
        ->addMetaData('account', user_load(1)); // Run the query as user 1.

$result = $query->execute();
      if (isset($result['node'])) { // existing event found, just count it
        $counter_existing++;
	//ADDED TO UPDATE
	$event->{'draftTitle'} = $node->title;
        $node->field_event_category[$node->language][0]['tid'] = $category->tid;
        $node->field_event_dates[$node->language][0]['value'] = strtotime($event->startTime);