How and when to use traits?

NotionCommotion

I am new to traits, and am trying to figure out when and how to use them.  Please comment on the following.  While this is a question about traits, I would welcome (provided advice is also given) any criticism about my use of interfaces should criticism be warranted.  Thanks

<?php
interface CarInterface
{
    public function go();
    public function stop();
    public function turn();
    public function resistRust();
}

class Car implements CarInterface
{
    public function go()
    {
        //bla bla bla
        $acceration=$this->accerationRate();
        //bla bla bla
    }
    public function stop()
    {
        //bla bla bla
        $deacceration=$this->deaccerationRate();
        //bla bla bla
    }
    public function turn()
    {
        //bla bla bla
        $turnRadius=$this->turnRadius();
        //bla bla bla
    }
    public function resistRust()
    {
        //bla bla bla
        $resistanceFactor=$this->resistanceFactor();
        //bla bla bla
    }
}

class Ford extends Car
{
    protected function accerationRate(){/* some script */}
    protected function deaccerationRate(){/* some script */}
    protected function turnRadius(){/* some script */}
    protected function resistanceFactor(){/* some script */}
}

class Chevrolet extends Car
{
    protected function accerationRate(){/* some script */}
    protected function deaccerationRate(){/* some script */}
    protected function turnRadius(){/* some script */}
    protected function resistanceFactor(){/* some script */}
}

class FordWithDealerRustProofOption extends Ford
{
    use DealerRustProofOption;
}

class ChevroletWithDealerRustProofOption extends Ford
{
    use DealerRustProofOption;
}

trait DealerRustProofOption {
    protected function resistanceFactor() {/* some script */}
}

$car=new Ford();
$car=new Chevrolet();
$car=new FordWithDealerRustProofOption();
$car=new ChevroletWithDealerRustProofOption();