Can't get login and file uploads to work

tottedaman
Go to solution Solved by jodunno,

Hi

So I'm pretty new to php and web development in general and I'm quiet stuck in my first project. The idea of my project is to make a simple login system where you can sign in with a user account and then get to a file upload where you can submit files to the server and user some jquery to make it look nice. I've gotten the login system to work as I want it to with connection to a mysql db and all. But I can't for the life of me get file uploads to work with my login system. It keeps saying that _FILES is empty and that a array key is undefined. But the weird part is that if I simply skip the entire login system and create just a simple HTML-form with a upload button and a seperate php-file then it works perfectly but as soon as I try to use that code in my project (after you get logged in using the login system) it just won't work and I can't for the life of me figure out what's wrong, my code seams fine and if I put the "simple files" in the same directory on the web server as my whole project the file uploads works. My code is quiet long an there's a few files, I will post them down below.

you forgot to close the if condition in the login upload php file:

<?php 
session_start();
if (isset($_SESSION['id']) && isset($_SESSION['user_name'])) { 

somewhere over the rainbow:

<?php } ?>

i recommend switching the request method and checking $_POST with empty over isset (simply typing a zero passes isset)
also change your logic from if...elseif..else to if alone

switch ($_SERVER['REQUEST_METHOD']) {
  case 'GET': //get lost code or friendly page
  break;
  case 'POST':
    if (empty($_POST['username'])) { /*set error and leave or just leave + exit; etc.*/ }
    if (empty($_POST['password'])) { /*set error and leave or just leave + exit; etc.*/ }
    /*rest of your code*/
  break;
}

i recommend hashing passwords and using hash_equals to verify passwords