By clicking, loading 2 different docs in 2 different frames

Cyrolab

Hello all.

I have a question that some alredy asked similar but couldn't figure it out or it didn't worked.

Please refer to the picture I attached.

When I click on "Click Here", I want 2 different htm pages to load into 2 different frames. That is for example doc1.htm loads to Frame: content and doc2.htm loads to frame: menu2. How do you do that? I am using dreamweaver software but I am not a programmer. I have seen some examples found on the net, but they didnt worked, or at least I am doing something very wrong (as a basic user).

Thank you in advance any help. If possible by giving examples I would really appreciate it.

Cyrolab

click question.png

I try to explain with another attached image. Many yrs ago I made a website with flash but as flash can't be used I am stucked with this problem. I try to be short.

As you see on the image, top left is the main menu that stays always there. When I click on Discography a secondary menu opens to the bottom left while another html file to the main content that guides a bit what the visitor can do at this part of the site.

I hope I was a bit clear and the image is not too dizzy :).

Thx for asking.

click question 2.png

Normally you solve this problem by not using frames. Is that an option? How much work are you willing to put into this?

The alternative is Javascript: make your link open one of the pages (I suggest the content page) normally, then use Javascript to "open" the discography page in the other frame as well.

Well, I am not talented in Javascript and realised I can't do this in an HTML making software like Dreamweaver that I like a lot. Actually there is the possibility to do Javascript in Dreamweaver but I can't porgram it. I saw an example somewhere here in one of the forums but can't figure it out:

<a id='threelinks' href='#'>Open three tabs</a>

then use jQuery (or Javascript )

$("a#threelinks").on('click', function() {