installing and using a Date Picker for hotels

webdeveloper123

Hi Guys,

I'm not too hot on JS and stuff like Node.Js and npm so I am here to ask for help. I am a basic JS programmer and I am not sure if I am doing the following right:

I found a Date picker library online (https://github.com/benitolopez/hotel-datepicker) and want to use it.

It says I can install as a module or as a script, so I chose script because I have never used npm, it's not even installed on my server.

So I downloaded Fecha and the Date picker library, and extracted the following files:

hotel-datepicker.css

fecha.js

hotel-datepicker.min.js

and have the following code:

<link href="css/hotel-datepicker.css" rel="stylesheet">
<script src="js/fecha.js"></script>
<script src="js/hotel-datepicker.min.js"></script>

All the directory paths are correct. The above is in the <head> section

Then I have this: (which is also in the <head> section

<script>
var hdpkr = new HotelDatepicker(document.getElementById("input-id"), options);

</script>

with this HTML:

<input type="text" id="input-id" name="datepicker">

But it's not working. I'm obviously doing something wrong but not sure what it is.

Thanks

1. In order for Javascript to find the #input-id element, it needs to exist in the browser's DOM - that's the internal model that the browser uses to manage the page.
2. When you put things into the <head>, they happen immediately as the browser is loading the HTML markup it's receiving from the server.
3. Your datepicker input is somewhere down on the page.

Putting those together means that DOM stuff in the <head>, such as using getElementById, is not going to work in 99% of cases. You're simply trying to do things too early and they're not available yet.