Looping through $_POST array to filter out blank fields - need it to concatenate an sql string variable to include only columns with values

Hello PHP freaks

I'm a newbie so bear with me.

I have a generic problem and I'm sure code already exists to solve it. I need to have a dynamic sql string variable that will only produce an insert statement with database column names corresponding to input fields on the form that contain values, ignoring the blank ones. I know some looping function like foreach might be used, but if I use it on the  $_POST array I'll get the values, not the keys.

(the first field, well_no, is a primary key and is held in a session variable, so I know I'll be inserting a value for that column)

$ins = "well_no,";

foreach($_POST as $field)

if (!empty($field)){

$ins .=$_POST[$field].",";

}

And I get a warning

"Warning: Undefined array key "production in...   Here "production" is actually a form input.

the problem is my insert statement is hard-coded:

$sql = "INSERT INTO well_parent (well_no, easting, northing, purpose,  country,  admin1, admin2, admin3, settlement,

orig_wellno, date_completed, coord_sys, elev, status)

VALUES (:well_no,  :easting, :northing, ...

How can I adjust the sql statement and also the $data array holding the variables. Here's the context:

$sql = "INSERT INTO well_parent (well_no, easting, northing, purpose,  country,  admin1, admin2, admin3, settlement,

orig_wellno, date_completed, coord_sys, elev, status)

VALUES (:well_no,  :easting, :northing, :purpose,  :country,  :admin1, :admin2, :admin3, :settlement, :orig_wellno, :date_completed,

:coord_sys, :elev, :status)";

$stmnt = $pdo->prepare($sql);

$data = [':well_no'=>$well_no, ':easting'=>$easting, ':northing'=>$northing, ':purpose'=>$purpose,  ':country'=>$country,

':admin1'=>$admin1, ':admin2'=> $admin2, ':admin3'=>$admin3, ':settlement'=>$settlement, ':orig_wellno'=>$orig_wellno,