login script help please

jskoland

First I am very new to PHP. So this question is going to be very simple for you genius people out there. I have a simple login script. basically all I want is for someone to enter a password then continue on to the next page. BUT, when I go to the login in page and I enter the correct password, I go to the page I want but so does my login page. After I login I don't want the login page to follow me. How can I exit that and call my next page.

Thanks in advance

[code]

<?php
include "open_session.php";
if(!isset($mainfile)) include ("mainfile.php");
include "config.php";

// Define your password
$password = "mypassword";

if ( $_POST['txtPassword'] != $password) {

?>

<h1>Login</h1>

<form name="form" method="post" action="<?php echo $_SERVER['PHP_SELF']; ?>">
    <p><label for="txtpassword">Password:</label>
    <br /><input type="password" title="Enter your password" name="txtPassword" /></p>

<p><input type="submit" name="Submit" value="Login" /></p>

</form>

<?php
}
else {
?>

<?php
header("location: mod.php?mod=newsletter&op=viewnewsletter&newsletterid=2");
break;
}
?>                   

[/code]

"i dont think u can include like that."
Of course you can.

Can you show us a live example?
"I don't know what you mean by "My login page follows me".

I still don't know either.

Where is the processing for this form? It goes to itself, but doesn't do anything with the post data?

ok I will try to explain myself a little better.
I go to my login in page and in the top left corner I have Login: and a password box under that to enter in my password and a submit button. Once I enter my password and click the submit button, I then get redirected to http://www.mydomain.com/mod.php?mod=newsletter?op=viewnewsletter&newsletterid=2/ through the header command in my login page. BUT, I also still see the Login text and the password box and submit button still in the left hand corner of my screen.