Learning PHP

mr_badger

I'm a trained graphic designer but know a bit about web design and want to make web design my career. My real interest is in the way how a web page looks but really want to learn everything about web design including php&mysql. I have bought about 8 books on php and have done the tutorials in the books but I would love to be able to create things without using  the tutorials in books, my question is what is the best method of learning php.

Do i just keep doing the tutorials over and over again until one day I just don't need the books or is there another way of learning php?

get your hands dirty.

you can read books on how to fix a car, but only when you open up the bonnet do you learn how to REALLY do it.

i personally skipped the books stage and just downloaded a copy of phpBB to see how a forum works, then just tried bits and pieces of my own out. I always say that PHP is FAR more powerful than the results (ie, HTML) - so it's just about looking at a HTML page and working backwards bit by bit in terms of what you want to achieve - rather than getting baffled with millions of other functions that you wont need yet. When you need PHP to do something beyond your knowledge, that's when it's time to hit the books (or Google/tutorials) again - and odds are, there'll be a function sitting there waiting to be learnt that'll do a job for you.

if you're going down the tutorial road, dont just type them in and let it be. find one that's relevent to what you want to achieve (for example, a blog tutorial). try and figure out exactly what it's doing. change things around to see the difference. add things to it. take things away. trial and error.

most of all, be patient.