Getting PHP Certified

Drezard

I wish to become a Professional PHP Developer. I have been playing around with PHP for about 18 months now. (Yea, I know I'm still not good enough)

So my questions are:

- Who offers PHP Certification? So like Microsoft offers ASP.Net Certification. Cisco offers Network certification (well one). Who does the PHP version of this?

- Where is good place to do a PHP course? (Would I be looking at more of a university or a computer training place).

- Do you know of a good place in melbourne?

Regards, Daniel

I thought the Zend Cert. was the best (I started PHP by reading the Zend PHP 101 :) I'm just making sure I don't go for a certification spend hours doing it, then get told its worthless.

Any other opinions?

Regards, Daniel

I thought the Zend Cert. was the best (I started PHP by reading the Zend PHP 101 :) I'm just making sure I don't go for a certification spend hours doing it, then get told its worthless.

Ask yourself this: how will the certification help you? To me, it's simply a personal help. There are very few jobs that I came across in my recent search that required any sort of certification, and of those that recommended the certification, in none of the cases did the certification make a difference in pay brackets.

Also, there were three different jobs that I interviewed with that allowed for an online examination of their own devising to bypass the certification requirement if you could show you have sufficient experience and knowledge to their needs. One other thing to consider is that most employers are going to take "in the trenches" coding experience above simply a certification.