Photo

PHP Include not working

includes html directories css

Best Answer requinix, 15 May 2013 - 12:35 PM

If the problem is that the include()s are simply not working then you need to use absolute paths when giving filenames: "menu.php" alone isn't enough.

include ($_SERVER["DOCUMENT_ROOT"] . "/menu.php");
If the problem is the links lead to 404s then you need to use absolute paths when giving URLs: "menu.php" alone isn't enough.
<a href="/menu.php">Menu</a>
Go to the full post

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 port80

port80

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 15 May 2013 - 05:31 AM

Thank you for your time.

I am not sure where this really belongs the HTML, CSS, Application Design or one of the PHP topics. So I figured I would post here.

In my search I have found topics that come close to my question but have not provided a fix for my issue. So I'm asking for help. That and I am a beggining Web Developer.

Problem: the php includes I use are not displayed on web pages in subdirectories. If I add ../ to the php include so it is like this: <?php include ("../menu.php"); ?> on the newpage.php only some of the included files are shown on the page in the subdirectory. All links on the file newpage.php now act as though they were written <a href="../menu.php">link</a> and don't work. They are acctually written <a href="menu.php">link</a>.

Directory & Files

/

index.php

header.php

footer.php

menu.php <!-- contains all links for site -->

style.css

subdir/

newpage.php

newpage.php include code

<div id="links">
<?php
    include ("menu.php");
?>
</div>

Question? How do I fix it so that the menu.php and other included files are shown on the subdir pages? How do I make the links properly reflect the location. Since absolute or relative pathing appears to muck it up.

FYI: I do not have CLI access to the server. Only ftp access.

Thanks again for any help you may provide.

#2 requinix

requinix

Transforming Moderator

• Moderators