Repeating Background Image (I dont want it to repeat)

monkeytooth

Alright, lets see..

I'm fairly new to css so bare with me if this is a stupid question.

I want to take an image and use it as a background image in a DIV tag. Which that much I can do. However. I can't seem to get it to stop from repeating. After the Height of the DIV exceeds past the images size.

Info about the pic. Its a gradient background. Its about 3 pixels wide, and about 550px in height. The concept is to save bandwidth use a smaller image. Problem is that when using background:no-repeat; the image is only the image. What is desired is the image repeat left to right somehow, but not up and down.

Anyone know how I can fix this issue?

Oh wow, didn't know bout that one, thank you. Im going to assume that "Y" would be for up/down?

Also the piece you just helped me with, how cross compatiable is that browser wise as well as how version compatiable is that do you know? Meaning does it work across the board from IE to Safari, and will it work in something like IE 4 (you'd be suprised how many hits a couple sites I am starting to undertake recently get hit with older browsers).

Oh wow, didn't know bout that one, thank you. Im going to assume that "Y" would be for up/down?

Also the piece you just helped me with, how cross compatiable is that browser wise as well as how version compatiable is that do you know? Meaning does it work across the board from IE to Safari, and will it work in something like IE 4 (you'd be suprised how many hits a couple sites I am starting to undertake recently get hit with older browsers).

and background-repeat has been around for a long time. if you want to see the browser compatibilities go here:

http://www.w3schools.com/css/css_reference.asp