Beginner needs site critiqued.

techwave

Hey everyone,

New here, and a beginner to boot.  Need a critique of my website.  I am a big boy, so I can handle to remarks.  Just try to remember I am a beginner here, so just try to keep that in mind :D  These are templates from SohoLaunch just to let you know.

Here is the site:

http://www.techwavesolution.com

Thanks in advance for the input. :)

Given that it uses a template, what do you expect us to critique?

And the template is a dreadful piece of coding - a classic example of how not to. Table tag soup at its 'finest'.

He's harsh, but he's right.

Fun. Let's start out by saying how much the site is in need of XHTML and CSS2 Standards. It works horrible. But it is a template so what can you expect ??? The menu is horrible, and looks like it is from the 80s (Don't ask me how I know that since I am only 16 :P) Just having the button change when you put the mouse over it would be a significant change. The Google Custom Search looks like it was just thrown in there. It looks way to out of place, and it would look better if it wasn't there at all  :'( A big improvement would be your own search feature that integrates with the site.

What else can I say?

http://w3schools.com

http://www.google.ca/search?q=learn+html&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a

Learn how to program HTML yourself.

Aside from the layout...issues...you should also rewrite some of the text on your site.  A lot of it comes across as very amateur.  Grammar errors, conversational tone, vague, bland descriptions...it's all very pedestrian.  How long have you been in business?  Any good press you can share?  Any big-name clients in the local area you can mention?  Are any of you certified?  How many years of experience, combined, do you have?  What Linux distros are you proficient in addressing?  Can you handle Apache web servers?  Can you configure Postfix?