Going rate for freelance undergraduate IT consultant

yogibear

Hi all

I have a question about how much I should charge for being an IT consultant for a local church. I have been working for several small companies for a number of years now, normally I take whatever they are willing to pay per hour (they always have an idea). Problem is the church has no idea what a suitable amount is. I don’t what to suggest an amount that may be higher than the going rate for an IT consultant due to the fact it is a church and there are a number of volunteers working there.

I’ve been there a couple of times to see what is required, so far it seems like it is just  to set up broadband, a wireless network for a laptop and delete all the files of a priest who has retired. Not exactly complicated stuff.

I’m currently studying for a BSC(Hons) in computing, I completed a BTEC National Diploma in computing with grade Distinction-Distinction-Distinction, equivalent to 3 A’s at A-level. 6 years working as a freelance IT consultant.

Any idea of the amount that would be suitable would be great and much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Yogi bear

Where I live (new mexico) it seems the rates are from $15/hr and up.  $15/hr for techs who are relatively new the job and need the experience.  If you already know what you're doing, but are not familiar with the place (assuming it's a little more in-depth than setting up wireless,  a domain environment with multiple servers controlling everything from phones to peoples' desktops for example) you would start out at what you think the minimum value of your time is then as you familiarize yourself with their systems you renew the contract (once it ends of course) with a higher rate.  Then every time you renew the contract you up the rate again until it gets to what you believe your time is worth.

"Where I live (new mexico) it seems the rates are from $15/hr and u"

Wow, no one would ever higher me then.  x.x.