[SOLVED] array help

john32

Hi,

I am a complete PHP/MySQL newbie and was wondering if someone could point me in the right direction please?

I am creating a small 'news items' list and I'm wondering how to make items 'archived'. For this basic example my 'news' table has the following fields:

id (tinyint)

title (varchar(255))

archived (char(1))

where 'archived' is 1 or 0.

My page would display each news title followed by a checkbox so the user can tick it to be archived if required. So after doing an sql select my code would be:

$sql = "SELECT * FROM news";
    $items = mysql_query($sql);
    $numrows = mysql_num_rows($items);
    while ($item = mysql_fetch_array($items)) {
        $n_id = $item["id"];
        $n_title = $item["title"];
        $n_archive = $item["archive"];
        if ($archive == '1') {
            $checked = 'checked="checked" ';
        } else {
            $checked = '';
        }
        echo($n_title . "<input type=\"checkbox\" name=\"archived[]\" value=\"".$n_id."\" ".$checked." /> );
    }

When clicking the submit button I need to update the table where those that have been ticked = 1 and those that are unticked = 0.

This is where I start to fall over as a complete newbie! I was thinking that it would be something relatively simple like:

for($i=0;$i<$numrows;$i++){
    $sql="UPDATE news SET archived='1' WHERE id = $archived[$i]";
}

but this doesn't seem to be working ... and also obviously doesn't set the 'archive' field to 0 if the checkbox has been unticked.

Any pointers would be very, very much appreciated. It wouldn't surprise me if I'm going completely the wrong way about it.

Thanks for your time and help,

John32

Sorry, my apologies, I was trying to snip out some of the code that I thought would be a given...

for($i=0;$i<$numrows;$i++){
    $sql="UPDATE news SET archived='1' WHERE id = $archived[$i]";
    if (!@mysql_query($sql)) {
        exit();
    }
}