Passing a Date via a Hidden form Field...

jbmoyer

... and grabbing it via $_POST['FieldName']

When I do this:

$CurDate = date("m/d/Y");

<input type="hidden" name="SysDate" value="<?php echo $CurDate ?>" />

so the hidden contains: 01/09/2009

Then I grab it on the next page like this:

$pSysDate = $_POST["SysDate"];

But when I echo it out it renders: Friday, January 09, 2009 9:07:13 AM

AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH, I want: 01/09/2009 How do I do this, I am new to PHP is it isnt obvous lol....

Thank you...

Sure here is View Source, and no the date wont be the same it is from a hidden field that is contained within a loop so really what is being stored is the Date that item was saved to the db.

<form method="post" name="trackerfrm" action="">

<input type="hidden" name="SysDate" value="01/09/2009" />        <input type="hidden" name="PlugDate" />

<input type="hidden" name="vStart" />

<input type="hidden" name="vCurTotal" />

<input type="hidden" name="vPause" />

<input type="hidden" name="vPauseDate" />

Erm, why are you passing it in a hidden field at all? The date is almost certainly going to be the same when the form is loaded as when it is submitted, right?

Did you see that question?

Why do you need to pass the sys date to it? Since it is the just date with no time/seconds it will be the same on page load...no need to pass it, just call the date function where you were grabbing the post data.

Sorry everyone, this is NOT the current date. It is coming from the db, it is the date that the record was added to the database. I understand the nameing is bad, but the root question is if you pass a date through the POST when you grab it on the other side how do you "retain" the exact data that was passed? In reality I am passing a String, it is just a hidden textbox

How are you echoing the data?

Ken

See that.