Jump to content


Photo

New site, altered design, btcartoons.com


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
16 replies to this topic

#1 koolaidman52

koolaidman52
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • Advanced Member
  • 53 posts

Posted 22 July 2006 - 09:02 PM

I posted my website about a month ago , back then I was in preparation for a move to a real domian, now I have it now. I changed a bit from the last time, heeding suggestions
and I was wondering what you guys think of my design. 
Also please check out the cartoon database, what you guys thought about that?

http://btcartoons.com
Btcartoons.com --  coded entirely in Mom's basement.

#2 cmgmyr

cmgmyr
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • Advanced Member
  • 1,278 posts
  • LocationUSA

Posted 23 July 2006 - 02:15 AM

My initial feeling of the site was pretty good, I like your design and the colors that you used.

Home:
- Seems good to me

Cartoons:
- What's with the bad background images, they just look messy. Just put a heading on each of the sections to say whos work they are.
- Very messed up in FireFox (footer)

Art:
- I don't know...I wouldn't call that art

Cartoon Database:
- It looks like a totally different site. Try and skin your forum so that it looks like your regular site

Circle Question:
- Looks fine

Ye Olde News:
- Why don't you make your own news script?

It is a good start but there is still a lot of work that needs to be done. Stick with your main design and bring that through to the other parts of your site.

-Chris

#3 koolaidman52

koolaidman52
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • Advanced Member
  • 53 posts

Posted 23 July 2006 - 09:43 PM

I went ahead and heeded what you siad, everything has the same style now. the carrtoon database is still a bit diferent as far as dimensions etc, but it still has the same look.

The cartoons divs are fixed and look exponentially better.

As far as making my own news thing I'm pretty happy with what I have, since it's not a blog i don't really care about what it does as far as design and archival, I just want to be able to display the latest news, and I'm toying with the idea of taking off the "ye olde news" link altogether.

I am still open to more critiquing.
Btcartoons.com --  coded entirely in Mom's basement.

#4 AndyB

AndyB
  • Staff Alumni
  • Advanced Member
  • 5,465 posts
  • LocationToronto

Posted 23 July 2006 - 10:11 PM

I'd suggest changing the colours you use for links.  The link colour, and in some cases the hover colour, is much too difficult to read.

The body text would be easier to read if you increased the line-height (say to 150%).  You might be surprised at how much difference that would make.

Be Aware that some of the toons are fairly large file (>3 MB,) and may take some time to begin to load.

OK, so why not identify approximate file size in the link text, just so I'll know (that would be a trivial task if the list is generated by php automatically, otherwise open up NotePad and edit the page)
Legend has it that reading the manual never killed anyone.
My site

#5 koolaidman52

koolaidman52
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • Advanced Member
  • 53 posts

Posted 23 July 2006 - 10:26 PM

"The body text would be easier to read if you increased the line-height (say to 150%).  You might be surprised at how much difference that would make."

Jesus! so that's how all of those sweet loking sites do it. I've known about line height fr ages, i jst never knew how muc h of a difference it made.

Gratzi

Ill do the file sizse thing later,

in the mean time, anything else anyone? 
Btcartoons.com --  coded entirely in Mom's basement.

#6 steviewdr

steviewdr
  • Moderators
  • Advanced Member
  • 1,364 posts
  • LocationIreland

Posted 24 July 2006 - 01:43 PM

The navigation back out of the Cartoons database is very difficult. The image URL only brings me to index.php of teh forums.

Its just a little confusing. I would have the main navigation bar there - and for the database pages - put a second smaller horizontal nav under the main one.

-steve

#7 koolaidman52

koolaidman52
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • Advanced Member
  • 53 posts

Posted 24 July 2006 - 02:21 PM

clever steve, I tried bolding it to make it more obvious but your solution is better.
Btcartoons.com --  coded entirely in Mom's basement.

#8 steviewdr

steviewdr
  • Moderators
  • Advanced Member
  • 1,364 posts
  • LocationIreland

Posted 24 July 2006 - 06:21 PM

I would have done it a little more subtly. I would have put the second Nav in the green div with smaller text with maybe a bold to show that it is a sub-nav menu.

Your add comments to the news needs a lot of integration.

Your red text and dashed border on the main home page are very distracting. The red text been particularly a bad colour in this instance.

Rgds,
steve



#9 steviewdr

steviewdr
  • Moderators
  • Advanced Member
  • 1,364 posts
  • LocationIreland

Posted 24 July 2006 - 06:41 PM

hey, im not suer how you did that, if you're a hacker please tell me what you did so i can fix the problem.



Ha! Well you allow HTML characters in your posts! A person can put in javascript, or iframes or anything at all to deface your site and steal peoples sessions etc. Php code seems to be removed - so you might be ok on that front.

As for registering - it said my account had to be approved - but yet I could start a help topic.

Rgds,
Steve

#10 koolaidman52

koolaidman52
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • Advanced Member
  • 53 posts

Posted 24 July 2006 - 06:47 PM

well, i have a script that allows me to pick and coose who i allow to post(in case I just don't have a good feeling about a possible user), you still have the lowest level of userdom so you're not allowed to add/ edit articles except to the support forum. is there somehting i can do to not allow html in those posts?
Btcartoons.com --  coded entirely in Mom's basement.

#11 steviewdr

steviewdr
  • Moderators
  • Advanced Member
  • 1,364 posts
  • LocationIreland

Posted 24 July 2006 - 06:54 PM

Ya. - http://ie.php.net/strip_tags

Well my account wasnt approved - yet I could post a New Forum.

Rgds,
Steve

#12 koolaidman52

koolaidman52
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • Advanced Member
  • 53 posts

Posted 24 July 2006 - 06:55 PM

yeah i do that for a reason, but maybe i shouldn't.
Btcartoons.com --  coded entirely in Mom's basement.

#13 steviewdr

steviewdr
  • Moderators
  • Advanced Member
  • 1,364 posts
  • LocationIreland

Posted 24 July 2006 - 06:57 PM

not if you allow html tags and the like to deface your site.

#14 koolaidman52

koolaidman52
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • Advanced Member
  • 53 posts

Posted 24 July 2006 - 07:02 PM

i got rid of them

thanks for doing that now before someone posted some less-tastefull material on it.
Btcartoons.com --  coded entirely in Mom's basement.

#15 koolaidman52

koolaidman52
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • Advanced Member
  • 53 posts

Posted 24 July 2006 - 07:04 PM

what do you think of the series pages, is the layout okay etc etc...

P.S. steve, as far as having the database nv in the green nav section, i have some restrictions because i include the entire div into the header, i know i could get around that but im too lazy.
Btcartoons.com --  coded entirely in Mom's basement.

#16 steviewdr

steviewdr
  • Moderators
  • Advanced Member
  • 1,364 posts
  • LocationIreland

Posted 24 July 2006 - 07:14 PM

Ya - the layout is ok.

You shouldnt underline text - it makes it look like a hyperlink.

That cream sub-nav will do fine so.

Your Comments page needs integrating.

Rgds,
Steve

#17 koolaidman52

koolaidman52
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • Advanced Member
  • 53 posts

Posted 26 July 2006 - 05:51 PM

ok everything is integrated now,

what underlined text are you takling about?

anybody else got anything?
Btcartoons.com --  coded entirely in Mom's basement.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users