database driven content and friendly URLs

glennn.php

i'm a php/mysql developer and NOT as SEO disciplined as i should be. i've developed a site for a client which is mainly driven by db data, and my urls largely consist of GET variables: index.php?pageid=42, etc...

my client has done a LOT of SEO study for his site and now we're both concerned with what effect this is going to have on GOOGLE's (and others') indexing.

i don't know who to ask or where to read on how to tackle this - if it needs tackling.

as well, i'm curious as to how Search engines 'see' pages that are generated on the fly via database content. i can't believe that such pages are indexable, but as many websites are built in this fashion, i'm wondering how SEO is handled overall regarding site content AND URLs.

i'm obliged if anyone can offer some pointers and/or a link to a good tutorial on the subjects.

thanks

GN

Search engines can follow any links from any reachable page -- or via a robots.txt file -- so yes, these can get indexed even if they're dynamic.

But it's easy to workaround -- just assign a unique "named" url to each page, and lookup by that instead of, or in addition to, uid, and then use these as your page links.

as well, i'm curious as to how Search engines 'see' pages that are generated on the fly via database content.

They see pages as you see the HTML source or better how Firebug sees the source as Google knows if an element has display:none applied.

i can't believe that such pages are indexable

Most, if not all websites work this way. Google itself provides sufficient information for webmaster's search for GoogleWebmasterHelp channel on YouTube, in the Webmaster section you can also find some document providing some pointers.

But it's easy to workaround -- just assign a unique "named" url to each page, and lookup by that instead of, or in addition to, uid, and then use these as your page links.