SQL Join

elite311

After reading for hours and still not understanding how to write this I'm looking here for help.

I am fairly new to the world of MySQL but I have written lots of query's just always just for basic things, now I'm trying to do something a little more advanced and I'm not understanding it at all even after reading about joins and what types to use.

I have 2 tables, assets & locations. I want to join these 2 tables so that I can display how many assets are at each location, seemed pretty easy to me at first but boy was I wrong....

Tables are:

Name: assets

id (auto increment)

asset

currentjob

Name: location

id (auto increment)

jobnumber

jobname

jobphone

jobfax

$locationresult = $db->fetch_all_array("SELECT * FROM location LEFT JOIN assets ON location.jobnumber = assets.currentjob SUM(assets.currentjob) WHERE assets.currentjob = location.jobnumber AS jobassets ORDER BY location.jobnumber ASC");

Then I am displaying it like this:

<table width="100%" cellspacing="5">
              <tr>
              	<th align="left">Job #</th>
                <th align="left"># of Assets</th>
                <th align="left">Job Name</th>
                <th align="left">Job Phone #</th>
                <th align="left">Job Fax #</th>
              </tr>
           	   <?php foreach($locationresult as $location) { ?>
                <tr>
                <td align="left" valign="top"><a href="locationinfo.php?id=<?php echo $location['jobnumber'];?>"><?php echo $location['jobnumber'];?></a></td>
                <td align="left" valign="top"><?php echo $location['jobassets'];?></td>
                <td align="left" valign="top"><?php echo $location['jobname'];?></td>
                <td align="left" valign="top"><?php echo $location['jobphone'];?></td>
               <td align="left" valign="top"><?php echo $location['jobfax'];?></td> 
               </tr>
          	  <?php } ?>
            </table>