Check To See If Internet Is Available

DavidAM

My Internet connection seems to be problematic right now. So, I decided to write a script to run continuously and periodically check to see if the Internet is available. The script checks every five minutes (which is configurable, and I might want to change to 1 minute or 15 minutes).

So, my question is, what is a good way to check to see if the Internet is available. My first thought was to do a DNS lookup. So I tried using dig +short domainname which works, and responds pretty quickly. I'm just concerned that a DNS lookup every minute is going to get me "on the radar", so to speak. It does not seem excessive from a network standpoint, but I have no real experience on that side and don't know what Network Admins might be watching for; or if DNS results might be cached in the router or modem (it does not appear to be, but I am guessing).

I am also wondering if there is a different command I can (or should) use.

The configuration is:

Debian Linux <----CAT5----> NetGear (Wireless) Router <----CAT5----> Cisco Cable Modem <----Cable----> Internet

So checking to see if the network is up will always return success (unless the router is down). But I want to know if The Internet is available.

As long a I am doing this, I wouldn't mind adding a check on the router as well, so if there is a good way to do that, I would be interested to know. For now, the script is written in PHP; I can switch to bash or even a C program if I need to (although, I would like to keep it as a script).

We had kind of spotty internet for a while and what I did was setup something to ping my ISP's dns servers a few times every hour. I don't think a few pings every couple minutes or a couple DNS lookups would cause any issues, probably nobody would even notice.

If I were going to setup something again I'd probably ping my linode VPS (or just try and wget the homepage) to test for a connection.