PHP mysql script breaking my head

vnlvet

Hey everyone, I am new to php scripting and I feel somewhat retarded I am not understanding something about a script I need produced. In short I need to mirror sections of a database by moving columns from one remote database to a local one.

Before I post what I have already attempted, I think it would be a better use of my time to start fresh with some intelligent advice from the forum users. My hurdle is to understand what exactly I am putting in my script to do this. I have the $remote_link and $local_link already declaired and it gives me a nice 'connected successfully' echo when both connect as listed below:

<?php

echo "sync..";

$remote_link = mysql_connect('phpmyadmin.xxxxxxxx', 'uuuuuuu', 'wwwwwww');

if (!$remote_link) {

die('Could not connect: ' . mysql_error());

}

mysql_select_db('AAAAA',$remote_link);

echo 'Connected successfully REMOTE<br>';

// --------------------------------------------------------------------------

$local_link = mysql_connect('localhost', 'yyyyyy', 'zzzzzzzzz');

if (!$local_link) {

die('Could not connect: ' . mysql_error());

}

mysql_query('SET NAMES utf8',$local_link);

mysql_select_db('BBBBBBB',$local_link);

echo 'Connected successfully LOCAL<br>';

// ----------------------------------------------------------------------------

For example: I need to copy a whole column named "title" from the "product" table on 'AAAAA' database and insert it in the column "name" in the "product_desc" on 'BBBBB' database.

Help!

For example: I need to copy a whole column named "title" from the "product" table on 'AAAAA' database and insert it in the column "name" in the "product_desc" on 'BBBBB' database.

But what about the rest of the data? What "title"s match up with what "name"s? How do you know where the new values are going?