CHURCH WORK-HELP PLZ

sir.harpreet

hi all..

[b]this is a charitable work that I am doing for a church..I am not a PHP professional..[/b]
I am a Business Analsyt, basically,

One church has approached me and have me to develop a library management system.. i am not charging any money from them or anyone associated and have agreed to develop it for free..

I am okkie with all the coding, database development and everything.. i have chosen php for development.. [b]and this is the FIRST time i am using it.[/b]

My PROBLEM is:

I can develop the application but i am not aware of how to run it.. in other words, i do not know how to upload it on a server. plz tell me should i develop the system on server which will host it or shall i develop it on any Pc and then later copy everything on the server.. ooh yes and that reminds me.. can i copy everything (source code-php & DB) and paste on the server.

plz help me in this....
my email id is sir.harpreet@gmail.com

thanks a lot

You have to develop it on your own computer and later upload it to the hosted server.
You upload the files with a ftp-client, thats the software you use to connect to the hosted server, the database is working a bit different the easiets way is probably to write a sql script and run it on the server, but if your hosted server has phpmyadmin it will be a great help for you. 8)

The easiest way is to install apache, mysql and php on your computer. This will make your computer a web server and thus make development very fast.

The second way is to get a web host that has php and mysql. You can then update stuff as you go along. The problem with this is that development is slow as you have wait for it to upload before you fix errors.

To upload data you can use IE6 or a more advanced ftp client.

[quote author=Perad link=topic=116968.msg476935#msg476935 date=1164978376]