Simple newsletter sign-up (rookie) problem

Frankhol

Hi all, as a php rookie I'm trying to create a simple newsletter registration sign-up but for some (probably stupid) reason I don't get an error message and nothing is getting into the database. 

Anyone willing to point out what I'm overlooking?

(yes, there is a bit of Dutch in the txt)

<!doctype html>
<html lang="nl">
  <head>
    <meta charset="utf-8">
    <title>Pre-Registratie</title>
  </head>
  <body>

<form action="reg.php" method="POST">
<input type="text" name="name" placeholder="Naam">
<input type="text" name="email" placeholder="Email adres">
<button type="submit">Registreer</button>
</form>

</body>
</html>

post-204239-0-09578000-1493840997_thumb.png

You create an unnecessary variable called $naam and then try to insert $name into the database, therefore your query fails. If you turn on error reporting you would have a clue as to the problem

Additional noob mistakes are putting variables in your query. NEVER EVER do that. Use prepared statements. You are also outputting internal system errors to the user who has no use for it unless he is a hacker.

@gingerjm, it is actually the checking of a button being submitted instead of checking the server request method.

Thanks a lot for the fast replies! I implemented your tip, @ginerjm, and yes, very handy :)! Also checked out the differences between button and input and will stick with the button for now. It's not like it's a project for millions of viewers and it's a temporary page I work on by myself. The real work I'll let the pro's handle, but I like to learn....