Select data from MySQL DB based on the URL

Tom926

I am very new to php and I am looking to create dynamic pages.

In short - I need dynamic pages that has echo tags in the content that change depending on what page you're on.

Basically If someone lands on www.example.co.uk/essex.php I would like to be able to add an echo tag like <h1>Company In <?php echo $row['County']; ?> onto the page so that it would show as Company In Essex when Live and save time if I need to duplicate the page for another county or town.

So far I have setup a database in phpmyadmin with a table of every town and county in the UK

Picture of Table

My code so far to grab the table is;

$dbconnect = mysqli_connect("HOST", "USER", "PASSWORD", "DB");
if(mysqli_connect_errno()) {
echo "Connection Failed:".mysqli_connect_error();
exit;
}

$count_sql="SELECT * FROM areas";
$count_query=mysqli_query($dbconnect, $count_sql);
$count_rs=mysqli_fetch_assoc($count_query);

and then on /essex.php I have added the follow code 

<?php
do {
echo $count_rs['County'];
} while ($count_rs=mysqli_fetch_assoc($count_query))

?>

But where I have gone wrong is it pulls all the data from the table for County where I only wish it to pull the county of Essex at the momenent but will need code so that it changes based on what page you are on.

Please forgive me If I have explained this badly.

You don't need a separate page for each County. You need to use a WHERE clause and GET with the ID and then foreach over the results.

SELECT column_name FROM table WHERE id = $_GET['id']

mydomain.com/county.php?id=2

You should also think about using PDO and your database could use a little bit of normalization. Additionally, do not output internal system errors to the user. The information is only good to hackers.

There are several fundamental problems with your approach, and I'm not sure if this is a good project for somebody who has neither worked with PHP nor SQL before.