Php Require or Include inside of IF/ELSE statement

meOmy
Go to solution Solved by mac_gyver,

Hello,

I'm just playing around with PHP (I love it but am not very good at it) and now trying to find ways to clean things up and/or reduce the amount of code I see on any given page.

My problem is:

I have a lot more validation (preg_match) than I'm showing below, but to make it easier for you, I've removed all but two of them. When I look at that page, I think to myself, why not put all the validation in a separate file and then INCLUDE/REQUIRE the file that has the validation inside it? However, that doesn't work. I even thought maybe there's a way to do a function with all the validation in it and place that inside the IF/ELSE. However, I'm not very good at/with functions, so that solution has eluded me. The fact I can't seem to find an answer on the Internet is leading me to believe I'm going about it the wrong way.

How do I remove the validation part from where it is right now and put it in a separate file or function and use/call it, so the page works? Thank you in advance for any help you can provide.

if ($_SERVER['REQUEST_METHOD'] === 'POST') {

if (!preg_match("/^[a-zA-Z\'\-\s]*$/", $firstname) == TRUE) {
            $firstnameErr2 = "Only letters allowed";
        }

if (!preg_match("/^[a-zA-Z\'\-\s]*$/", $lastname) == TRUE) {
            $lastnameErr = "Only letters allowed";
        }

else {

$firstname    = sanitize_input($_POST["firstname"]);
            $lastname     = sanitize_input($_POST["lastname"]);
            $address1     = sanitize_input($_POST["address1"]);
            $address2     = sanitize_input($_POST["address2"]);
            $city         = sanitize_input($_POST["city"]);
            $state         = sanitize_input($_POST["state"]);
            $zipcode     = sanitize_input($_POST["zipcode"]);
            $phone         = localize_us_number($_POST["phone"]);

$stmt = $pdo->prepare("SELECT username FROM users WHERE username=?");