Building API, PDO, Procedural

Adamhumbug

Hi All,

I am looking to explore the world of API's and i would like to build one.

I have had a look around online and most of the examples use classes and are OOP.

I have never done OOP before and although i am sure it is something i should be looking into, i wondered if either anyone could point me in the right direction or suggest any good reading around this topic.

I am starting by just trying to send a list of Clients in the response.

Thanks in advance as always.

An API is a contract that says "if you give me X then I will give you Y". It has nothing to do with OOP. So it's totally valid to build an API with code that's procedural.
In fact, a lot of OOP is just syntactic sugar over a procedural pattern. Take PHP's cURL functions for instance: you create an "instance" of a cURL thing, then call different "methods" using that thing - whether you write "curl_function($instance)" or "$instance->function()" doesn't make much of a difference.

So what's your goal here? To build an API and you think you need OOP for it? Or to learn OOP using the idea of an API as a real-world example?

Thanks for that explanation - appreciated.

My goal here is to build another site, that is seperate from my first one that can call an API in the first to get certain information.

Eventually it will be a site that can be logged into and using the apis it will grab the information that it needs from the first site.

I am sure that there are other ways of doing this but i wanted to use it as a way of learning apis as well as building something for a reason rather than it being hypothetical.

As mentioned i have seen some tutorials that are OOP but i find them hard to follow or they are so specific to that project that i struggle to break out what i need.  I am looking to start basic - grab all client names from client table - return json.