Take a look at my personal website...

rcorlew

Take a look at the site I made for my family. I am still pretty new with php and have not really worked with html for years until one day I got bored and built this. Remember I am fairly rusty at this and built this whole thing just to see if I could, it is really a test to see if I could teach myself php and use sql.

Anyway here is the link.

[url=http://www.corlewland.com/]http://www.corlewland.com/[/url]

you know what, it actually isnt bad. almost like an enclosed MySpace just for your family. Here's what I'm not so hot on:

- a personal preference, but i always like the top banner/logo to be clickable to take me back home.
- your nav is repeated twice. if you lost it out of your left column, and left it up top, then all your other stuff like multimedia would be visible.
- the footer (the big flaming logo). doesnt really fit with anything. I won't even [i]start[/i] on the 'Site Optimized for...' comment, as here on 1024x768, it looks good on FF. Apart from:
- there is an overspill of text from one of your two boxes (the Guest Book Entries one) on the home page.
- i was able to submit a blank contact form. also, the message saying "This is what you sent" in big, bold red, makes it look like an error message. Consider changing/adapting this so something like "Thanks for your message!" with a friendly link to go back to homepage.
- give the calender you have (top left) a container of its own. even if it's just a bordered white box or even styled like a calendar page. i'd personally swap the calendar and the banner around so that the calender goes top right, just because of where i was focusing when i first looked.