I'm new

justedee

Hi,

My name is eDee. I’m looking for a PHP and MySQL forum where I can ask incredibly stupid questions.

I’m just a beginner geek, but I worship the ground the super geeks walk on and hope to become a super geek one day.

Is this a forum for the beginner as well as the super geek?

~eDee

of course. welcome aboard!

I knew virtually zilch when i first joined up here myself, so yeah - providing you get acquainted with searching the site/reading the FAQ's, etc to make sure you're not asking something that's been asked over and over, you're fine - regardless of your experience.

My name is eDee.

I'm guessing that's not really your name, or you're one of those that sold the rights to their name to a winning bidder to choose on eBay? ;D jk

People here are generally helpful, more helpful than most online communities I've had experience with.  That said, try and research topics before you post a question to see if you can't find the answer yourself; to that end, google is your best friend.

Another useful approach when you can't find any answer yourself is make a general post of what you'd like to do and ask for a list of topics that would give you successful hits on google.  A lot of times you can describe what you're trying to do without knowing the details, so it can be hard create a successful search query.

The short version of all that is don't expect people to do your work for you and don't come off as that way either; individuals that appear to help themselves will get the most help from any online community.

My name is eDee.

I'm guessing that's not really your name, or you're one of those that sold the rights to their name to a winning bidder to choose on eBay? ;D jk

Laugh!

Actually that is my real name. Say it like initials E.D. (don't sound it out.)

I thought I’d just post as general questions. Let who ever is feeling charitable answer my questions. Does that sound like the best idea?

~eDee

it depends what you're asking.