Ruby On Rails

unsider

Anyone use it? I'm reading about it now, and I'm frankly loving it.

Opinions, comments...?

I haven't looked very much into it, but based on the little amount of time I've spent with it, it seems really good framework.

The only thing the ruby(the language) has that i like it i believe better OOP support(not 100% sure tho).

That depends on what you're looking at. Although "everything is an object" and such, there is no support for interfaces or abstract classes for instance.

I am just wondering, what about ruby on rails do you like that PHP can not do?

That question doesn't make sense. What can a car do that a banana cannot?

I have been working with rails for almost two years total and the past year almost exclusively. The ruby language and the rails framework are, for lack of a better term, elegant. However, one of the biggest draw backs is the performance. As with most things, you end up giving up performance for convenience.

One of the main things that attracted me to rails was the fact that it is extremely easy to scale an application up/down depending on the current load requirements. As with most frameworks, it will also drastically cut back on the overall development time for an application. With experienced developers, you can develop complex applications in a relatively short period of time. With hardware being cheaper than man hours it makes a lot of sense from a business point of view.

btw, checkout http://railscasts.com

Opinions, comments...?

I haven't looked very much into it, but based on the little amount of time I've spent with it, it seems really good framework.

The only thing the ruby(the language) has that i like it i believe better OOP support(not 100% sure tho).

That depends on what you're looking at. Although "everything is an object" and such, there is no support for interfaces or abstract classes for instance.

first of all do you mean ruby does not support abstract classes and interfaces?